Texas DOT

The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT, pronounced “tex-dot“) is a government agency in the U.S. state of Texas. … At one time, TxDOT also administered vehicle registration; but this function transferred to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, a state agency which began operations in November 2009.

With approximately 12,000 employees, The executive director is currently James Bass.[14] Previously Bass served as chief financial officer since 2005. He is assisted by one deputy director and four assistant executive directors. The current interim Deputy Executive Director is Marc Williams.[15] The department is organized into 25 geographical districts and 34 divisions.

TxDOT is one of the state’s largest departments in terms of the number of subordinate offices – it maintains 25 geographical districts throughout the state. The large number of departments is needed due to the large size of the state, the widely varying climate and soil conditions affecting public roads, and the differing needs of the local populace (urban vs. suburban vs. rural). In 2010, TxDOT was reorganized into four regions, North, South, East, and West. The regions are designated as Regional Support Centers. The number of districts remained the same. Each district, managed by a district engineer, is responsible for the design, location, construction, and maintenance of its area transportation systems. Local field offices within districts are known as area offices, and many districts also have separate maintenance offices, usually on a county-by-county basis. Functional divisions and offices headquartered in Austin provide administrative and technical support to the districts.